Jason Chau’s cosplay photography

Last summer I was travelling to as many conventions as I could doing cosplay photography, since then I have been working unpaid so have had no money to travel around the country. I however I will not let this spring/summer’s events slip past me. As I get ready to photograph some cosplayers I thought I would try and find someone who shoots in a similar style to me.

Alot of photographers take the subjects away from the hustle and bustle of the con, put them against a white wall or in the garden of the venue the con is held at, I however like to capture the ongoing convention in the background. Much like those street fashion photographers who stop people on the street and get them to stop where they are and pose.

I found the work of Jason Chau who does the same, I love the fact he has a style, the same sort of framing in every photo and bright vivid colours, the background is still there but using depth of field it is not distracting from the cosplayer. You can see all of Jason’s work here.

Leave a Reply

