The Apocalypse

In the last hour or so I have had a realisation. Struggling to find what I am interested in and a focus area for this blog after leaving University has had me questioning myself for weeks now. I like anime, I like film, I like books but I am not your typical fan of any of these areas, I don’t dedicate my life to them or obsesses over them 24/7.

Upon return from seeing the Pacific Rim at the cinema I thought about the medias across all boards which I obsess over (this thought ignited by a Pacific Rim obsession coming on). They all have one common thread. Apocalypse.

Let’s begin with my first serious obsession, Lost. Week after week as a 13 year old girl I would watch as Jack, Kate and the gang went about their business. Now some people might argue Lost doesn’t revolve around apocalyptic themes, but in my eyes it does. For the characters involved their worlds have been destroyed, they have to rebuild and adapt to survive.

From this point on I cannot recall a time line of my obsessions. Unlike the majority of fans, I am not a “full timer” if you like. For example my favorite anime at the moment Shingeki No Kyojin is aired online every week, however I have only seen 5 of the 14 episodes. When I become obsessed it’s accompanied by a serious level of intensity. Spending a day or two immersing myself in the world I have chosen to experience. I recall my first year of University after purchasing the Buffy Boxset to pass time and watching every episode within 2 weeks, I genuinely jumped when I first embarked on a human on the streets of Coventry, thinking he was a nasty vamp. Before I jumped into slayer mode I quickly recollaborated and remembered to my sadness, “It isn’t real”.

fan art by Bacafreak

This may sound strange to some but this immersion is the satisfaction fandom gives me. I don’t particularly care which anime is top of the charts or knowing the latest releases. What I look for is the connection that makes me not want to leave the house until I know how it ends.

I seem to be digressing a tad, my point is that today I realised that the majority of media that consumes my life is based on some sort of apocalypse.

Below are my favourite anime and films at the moment (both lists are in constant flux), unaware until today of the weird obsession I seem to have.

Anime:
– Deadman Wonderland

“A massive earthquake ravaged Japan’s mainland and destroyed most of Tokyo, sinking three-quarters of it into the ocean. Ten years later, the story starts with Igarashi Ganta, a seemingly ordinary, unassuming middle school student attending Nagano Prefecture’s middle school. An escapee, a survivor of the great earthquake, Ganta has no memories of the tragedy and has lived a simple, normal life. This all changes one day when a strange man covered in blood and crimson armour appears, floating, out of his classroom windows, and massacres Ganta’s entire class and, instead of killing him, embeds a red crystal shard in his chest. Within days of the massacre, Ganta is convicted of the crime, following a suspiciously quick trial, is sentenced to life imprisonment in Deadman Wonderland, a massive theme-park-like prison.”
– Synopsis by T.H.E.M anime review

– Cassherns Sins


The world is in ruin. Everywhere, robots are rusting and breaking down, unable to repair themselves. Humans come few and far between with extinction inevitable. Chaos is ensuing, despair consumes the hearts of most, and all of this can be blamed on the actions of one robot by the name of Casshern. Chased by hordes of the vengeful, the now amnesia stricken Casshen walks the Earth slowly remembering his greatest sin; killing Luna, the Sun that was name Moon. With no place to hide, he must reconcile with his past. However, those around him are not so soon to forgive.
-Synopsis by The Nihon Review

– Puella Magi Madoka Magica


She has a loving family and best friends, laughs and cries from time to time… Madoka Kaname, an eighth grader of Mitakihara middle school, is one of those who lives such a life. One day, she had a very magical encounter. She doesn’t know if it happened by chance or by fate yet. This is a fateful encounter that can change her destiny—this is a beginning of the new story of the magical witch girls.
– Synopsis by Aniplex of America

– Shingeki No Kyojin


Several hundred years ago, humans were nearly exterminated by giants. Giants are typically several stories tall, seem to have no intelligence, devour human beings and, worst of all, seem to do it for the pleasure rather than as a food source. A small percentage of humanity survived by walling themselves in a city protected by extremely high walls, even taller than the biggest of giants.

Flash forward to the present and the city has not seen a giant in over 100 years. Teenage boy Eren and his foster sister Mikasa witness something horrific as the city walls are destroyed by a super giant that appears out of thin air. As the smaller giants flood the city, the two kids watch in horror as their mother is eaten alive. Eren vows that he will murder every single giant and take revenge for all of mankind.
– Synopsis by Kiss Anime

Films:
– Fifth Element

A cab driver in the 23rd century finds himself battling an evil force during an apocalyptic war as he tries to secure a mysterious “fifth element.”
-Synopsis by Star Pulse

– Dredd

A feared urban cop takes on a vicious city drug dealer in a futuristic metropolis as director Pete Travis (Vantage Point) and screenwriter Alex Garland (28 Days Later, Sunshine) team to bring iconic 2000A.D. lawman Judge Dredd to the big screen. In the future, much of North America has been poisoned by radiation. The sprawling urban jungle Mega City One stretches from Boston to Washington D.C., and in order to keep the growing criminal element in check, police enforcers called “Judges” have been given the power of judge, jury, and executioner. Judge Dredd (Karl Urban) is the most feared of them all, delivering death sentences with impunity as he fights to rid the streets of “Slo-Mo” — a powerful new drug that alters its user’s perception of time. In the process of training psychic rookie Cassandra Anderson (Olivia Thirlby), Dredd receives a report of an incident in a sprawling criminal stronghold ruled by fearsome drug lord Ma-Ma (Lena Headey), and ventures in to investigate. Upon learning that one of her top men has been captured by Dredd shortly thereafter, an enraged Ma-Ma seizes control of her massive 200-story complex, launching an all-out war against the Judges as Dredd and Cassandra find themselves trapped in the belly of the beast.
-Synopsis by MSN

– Pacific Rim

When legions of monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity’s resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. But even the Jaegers are proving nearly defenseless in the face of the relentless Kaiju. On the verge of defeat, the forces defending mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes—a washed up former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and an untested trainee (Rinko Kikuchi)—who are teamed to drive a legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the past. Together, they stand as mankind’s last hope against the mounting apocalypse.
Official Synopsis

Part of me is considering transforming this blog into a one stop apocolyptic source, reading books, manga and watching all sorts of crazy films and anime, I mean there have got to be others out their like me right?

Leave a Reply

