Tokyo : 6

Today has been one of the best days so far. I knew for the magical girl shoot I wanted a city skyline, so after a bit of research found the Mori tower. I contacted them and asked about shooting on the viewing platform on floor 52 of their building and they said it was fine. We decided to make a day trip out of it and went up early to have a look around the Rippongi Hills.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
^ the Mori tower. Top floor= viewing platform.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

We even found some Takashi Murakami art…
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Unfortunately the Mori art gallery was shut, so to pass time until night we took a trip to a Toho Cinema.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

After the film we headed up to the viewing platform and nothing could have prepared me for how stunning it was.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I knew this was the perfect place for the shoot so I got out my camera, lined up the images so it matched yesterday’s shoot and began snapping away. Soon a small crowd gathered and began to ask what we were doing. This interaction was great and something you wouldn’t get in the UK. The workers and sightseers were so relaxed and involved it makes Japan a really nice place to shoot in, both visually and atmospherically. The pictures will go online in the future. But as for now you will have to wait and see.

Taking a step back for a moment, at the beginning of the day the pose was really important for me so I saved a variety of magical girl images to my phone which I used as reference on the shoot.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Leave a Reply

