Tokyo : 4

Last night we did some shooting at a Sakura park in Ueno, Tokyo. I took my costume and film camera along with me just in case we found the perfect spot.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

However, we had heard before that The Sakura had come out early, before we arrived in Tokyo and it only lasts a week. This is frustrating because my look is based on the Sakura plant. We still went and were shocked to see hundreds if not thousands of people there picnicking. In Japan during cherry blossom time people gather in the parks and picnic up until the late night.

After much frustration of the local of cherry blossom we stopped looking and began to enjoy some food under the lanterns.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

We then came across a beautiful temple on the water, which had a stunning Sakura path over the water over looking the city. I decided the place was too beautiful not to try, although I had gone off the Sakura idea completely and had started thinking up other ways I could use the costume.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I haven’t got my laptop so cannot blog the originals instead I have photos of the screen of my camera, not ideal but its all I can manage without a laptop.

I am not overly happy with the images, ( I also took them on film) and I definately wouldn’t say they are good enough to be finals.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I shot some standing still but decided they didn’t look doll-like as I intended, as I knew the images weren’t great anyway I started experimenting with movement.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Now here are photos of the film printouts. The colours are duller than the digital and the focus is off (my fault completely) but the texture of the grain is nice. Still not final piece worthy.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I guess a first attempt it wasn’t too bad. However I rushed to get to the park because it was closing soon and rushed to get Sakura photos even though you cannot tell the trees are Sakura because they are nearly bare. I want to have fun with these photos and not rush anything. I am going off the Sakura idea completely because full bloom happened before we arrived and am researching traditional japanese gardens to find a more suitable place for this look without the pressure of getting the leaves before they fall.

I am confident about the product placement shoot because I found the perfect spot a few days ago and have been thinking about it since, so now I must do research on Japanese gardens and either high up viewing platforms or city areas for my magical girl look.

One thought on “Tokyo : 4

Leave a Reply

