Susanna Majuri

Inspired by the hyper-reality themes in Adam Hinton’s ‘Lovin’ it’ I came across the work of Finish Susanna Majuri. In her bio Majuri says “I throw myself into a fictive reality in the shootings.” and “I want to narrate feelings like in novels.”. Albeit Majuri is speaking of different novels to the ones I have been reading, but her inspiration from literature and aspiration of fictional reality is the same as mine. What also strikes me within Majuri’s work is the openness of the images. They are not forcing ideas upon us but once we dig past the beautiful aesthetics her work makes comments on nature, beauty and human ability.

In this video Susanna Majuri talks through some of her images and her use of water.

Leave a Reply

