Summarising The Male Gaze in one sentance

So I have been given the impossible task, summing up Laura Mulvey’s Male gaze theory in one sentace. In my symposium I say…

“Here we see the male gaze come into existence, twisting this culture into a multi-gender experience.” Paul pointed out to me some people might not know what the male gaze is and it needs further explanation. However my talk is already 10 minutes so I need to try and come up with one sentence I can follow this statement with that sums it up.

In my eyes from what I learnt during A-levels and through Spencer Murphey’s talk on Mulveys theory for Phonar is that the male gaze is active when something is presented through a male perspective. Specifically from a masculine viewpoint, this leads to the objectification of women. However this needs to be worded with more reference to the context. A good start would be to add Mulvey’s name into the sentance. Shaun also said the word existence needs to be changed as it existed before this project.

“Here we see Laura Mulvey’s male gaze come into play, twisting this culture into a multi-gender experience. Turning the consumers from young girls to men with a sexual perspective.”

I don’t feel I can go into much more detail about the theory because of the time I have.

I have just realised the wording makes it sound like the consumers are changing genders. That is definitely not what I mean…

“Here we see Laura Mulvey’s male gaze come into play, twisting this culture into a multi-gender experience. The audience not only being young girls but now men too with a sexual perspective.” That’s a bit better.

Leave a Reply

