Brainstorm & Symposium influence

 

In class this week we had to discuss our ideas and get feedback from our peers. It was really helpful in terms of where to go, it also made me realise I need to define my idea this week so I can start putting it into action, as everyone else in the class has the basic idea down it just needed fine tuning whereas mine is still up in the air. I know I want to continue on the Japanese pop culture route, looking at fandom and possibly in comparison to religion.

image

From this a lot of people asked what is the national religion in Japan, there is no one religion but the majority population are Budhist. In my head I had been thinking about relating it to Christanity, as that is the religion that has occupied my life, in tern relating it to Catholicism idol worship. However I am aware this has been done before and I want to do something original. Adele told me that she imagined my final piece being a conceptual art piece, which is what I had in mind. I love the Phonar project but it never really felt like a finished piece to me because the documentary style isn’t what I want to do. It felt more like a research piece, it could be considered a research piece for this final project. Sean then told me he felt the themes I’m exploring in my symposium are really interesting and maybe I could utilise that some how. He said it was a re-freshing view and one he doesn’t think anyone has explored so maybe it would be good to turn it into a photo project as well as the research project. So my task from now on is to see how I can combine these ideas,

bringing across the worship and love felt in religion and comparing it to fandom and also commenting on the negative aspects, however in my symposium I am not pointing out the negative points in the popular culture but the manipulation of the advertisers. What I can take from my symposium is the activism. My ending quote is this one which Jonathan Worth first made me aware of in Phonar…

One thing about which fish know exactly nothing is water, since they have no anti-environment which would enable them to perceive the element they live in.
– Marshal McLuhan

I am using this point in my symposium to talk about how activists work takes out of our consumer lives, it brings subconscious actions to the forefront and makes them more conscious. It then drops us back in the consumer culture with a more aware attitude.

The two activist photographers I’m looking at are Mariko Mori and Makoto Aida, both artists play with context to make the audience question what they accept as normal. You can read more about this if you click the link below.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1p1UgABjoR988F0z2lVVQQWu9B5b0tYU3klaDydfFPyA/edit

Maybe thats what I can utilise  the manipulation of context to make an activist piece, that doesn’t simply document a culture like my previous work does, but goes deeper into issues and debates within it.

Leave a Reply

