Successful speech writing

I am relatively confident in my research. Unlike a lot of people I am better at the research and preparation than the final thing. Especially when it comes to public speaking. I have been practicing to build my confidence at CUEAFS’ film screenings, introducing the film to 40+ people at a time. I think having a structure and system that has worked for other people would not only help my audience engaged but also give me something to fall back on, I know the structure has worked in the past and I can confidently rely on the structure, and allow myself to think and concern myself more with the content.

I have been doing some quick google research into successful academic speech writing and this is what I’ve found.

How To Write and Deliver A Successful Speech by Keva Silversmith 2002

 

 

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 10.42.45I think this is something I will struggle with, writing my speech to be heard. I enjoy writing to be read so it will be hard to change my ways. However I think by using visual language, metaphors, descriptive words etc I can mould myself a personal new style of writing.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 10.42.19It’s unclear to me what a verbal sign post would be. I will have to do more research on this. But it is a very good point. I might know where I am going and my structure but I need to make sure the audience do too. Otherwise they will be lost and the points I’m making won’t be of any relevance to them.

How to prepare a speech Academic Help

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 11.02.06This is something I completely hadn’t thought about up until now. Usually my audience is the first thing I think about. I will be talking to academics, associated with a university for my 3rd year. The terminology I use will be the key to accessing my audience.

This site also offers a great list of dont’s, I need to look at what I shouldn’t be doing as well as what I should.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 11.06.02

I think I have a better knowledge now, of what’s expected and what isn’t. The main point throughout the 5 websites I’ve looked at is to not rely on visuals, use anything you need to surport but people are going to hear a speech. I will continue my research but I am keen to start writing the introduction first and see how my skills are, find our where I need work.

Whenever I do public speaking I always write the script out, practise it a few times and then make cards with key points on. The full script helps me remember important academic words I might not use in everyday situations but the narrowing down of key points allows me to be a bit more fluent and spontaneous. As time frames go i would like to have the final speech written up in a week, by the 14th. That then give me 3 weeks to keep practising and write my key points then practise them.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

