Opening video

The opening video of my project is key, it’s the context for my story and a method of immersing the spectator into the world of Otaku. This is the script i’ve written so far for the opening video. The next step is working out how I will use visual images to support my writing. My reasons for writing each sentence is written in blue.

Key:
Black = The script
Blue = My reasoning behind it
Pink = How I intend to support this visually

Otaku. An anime and manga obsessive who invests all of their time and money into their hobby. – It’s key to start off with a definition when working with an exotic subject matter, the majority of people won’t know what Otaku means. They should however be farmilliar with Anime and Manga, however this may be presumptuous of me, so I will have to use images to provide context as well. – Visually I want the word Otaku to be implanted into peoples minds. Whenever I say Otaku it will be supported with a bold typing of “Otaku”. The definition will be supported with images of Otaku’s rooms, to visually help the viewer see what kind of level of obsession I am talking about.

Taichi Takashita, the man who tried to marry anime character, Mikuru Asahina. OTAKU!
The 1000 people who signed his petition to legalise human and 2D character marriage. OTAKU!
Tsutomu Miyazaki, the man who killed and then mutilated the corpses of 4 young girls in Tokyo. OTAKU! – The purpose of these examples is to put images of what the media depicts as Otaku’s into the spectators mind, put negative images into their head to I can contradict them. – Again I will use the word Otaku on screen whenever I say it, I will also use media used images of each person.

But this isn’t the whole story. What about the millions of self proclaimed Otaku’s online? Are they the childish, psychologically disturbed obsessives we see on TV and in the media? – Starting to turn it on it’s head question this representation. – I have thought about this already and produced an image of 100’s of online Otaku’s avatars from figure.fm.

‘Moe’ is the term Otaku’s use to describe the comfort their obsession brings them. It’s also the title my series of photofilms that intimately explores the lives and experiences of Otaku’s from every continent, and offers them a chance to tell their side of the story, un-judged. – Introducing the project to people, without giving too much away. – Much like with otaku is will bring Moe up on screen in bold font to reinforce this new word, and help establish it as part of my brand.

Choose an Otaku (with links to different Otaku’s stories) – Allowing the viewer to interact with the series, and also experience some context before seeing the stories.

Today’s mission, do some research on successful project intro videos and have a first draft of the video by the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

