Phonar: Spoken Narrative

This weeks task has taken me a while to complete. Not because I’m reluctant to tell a personal story but because I couldn’t think of anything. In the end I started thinking about what stories I can’t remember but wish I could. This was the one I most wanted to tell…

I wish I could remember the first time I read J.M. Barrie’s ‘Peter and Wendy’, but I was too young, so instead of recalling a story I will tell you how I imagine it would have been…

It was 1993, and I was barely a year old. My mum had come home from a day at the curtain shop with a brand new book. The book didn’t look the same as it does now, back then it was in pristine condition with that addictive musty new book smell, whereas today it’s falling apart, a bundle of frail pages hanging onto the spine by a thread, or as I like to call it, loved. Like every night my mum tucked me into bed, gave me a kiss on the forehead and began to read me a story, but this story was different from all the others. It was a story set in a magical world that was located just out of my reach, in the stars that I lay beneath. Pirates, Mermaids and Fairies occupied this place, as did the idea of never growing up. I dreamt of being lost in this world and living like a child forever. Little did I know, this story would shape the rest of my life, and no matter how many birthdays I had, a part of me would always remain a child.

I might only be able to make assumptions about my first encounter with the book, but every time since then I’ve felt at home whilst reading it. It’s strange to think an object can feel like home, it’s something I can’t explain, I just feel it. I’ve lost count of the number of times I have read the book, I would guess at least 15, but the magical thing about my relationship with this story is just like Peter it never gets old.

I still long to get lost in Neverland.

Here is a soundcloud version of me telling my story, however I’m not very happy with my delivery, even though I felt as though I was putting emotion into what I was saying it sounds like I have no connection to this piece of writing. So I will try rerecording it until I get it right.

3 thoughts on “Phonar: Spoken Narrative

  1. I like it lot Daisy!
    Problably the task try to make us concern about the challenge in recording our own voice and experiences. It’s different how it sound in our mind and how it sounds when we speak.

Leave a Reply

