Christine Carrelo – Flowers

When I think about Flowers within photography I find no inspiration  it’s been done 100 times before in the same way and will continue to be done by everyone.

However with my Journey to school project I hope to break this assumption in my head, I am trying to depict my primary school journey through the flowers I interacted with on my way. As a young girl I was fascinated with flowers, like most little girls, however myself and my best friend having names of flowers has followed me around forever. On my confirmation the Vicar spoke of how having the name of a flower was a blessing because I will always follow the sun, and on my 18th birthday I had 2 flowers tattooed onto my body to represent a friendship. This journey concerning flowers started from the age of 4 when I used to walk to school with Rosie, I passed the falling plants I called “fairy wings”, the primroses which I chose as my cats name at age 4 and the Roses and Daisies which symbolise not only a childhood friendship but a life long connection.

Christine Carrelo

Christine Carrelo is a photographer that I have found that photographs flowers in a way I have never seen before. Her work is helping to break that assumption in my head that all flowers photography is the same.

   

http://www.christinecarrelo.co.uk/art_photography_gallery.htm

Leave a Reply

