“One Hour Photo”

I had heard about the film One Hour Photo before but never got round to watching it, but when I stumbled across it online I realised this film could help with my project.

It had never occured to me before watching this film thats escaping into photographs could be a bad thing. The word escaping connotes a freedom or a release. But what would happen if you started to believe the world you were escaping into was actually real. In this film Robin Williams escapes his lonely life through family snap shots he processes at work. There is one family in particular that he is interested in, his idea of perfection.

The character found himself constantly reminded of the family he never had every day, he spoke about how family snap shots are selected and edited to make the family seem like they have a perfect life.

“Nobody ever takes a photo of something they want to forget” Is a line that stood out to me, firstly because it is true and secondly it made me think about people who photograph something that doesn’t exist, like in Art photography rather than documentary; is this a photographers way of trying to make reality better? A photograph was considered 100% true during the time of it’s birth, and even though we know this isn’t correct now, are we so rooted to the family snapshot that these false images we create become as sentimental to us as reality?

Another thing Si (robin Williams character) talks about is the origin of the word snapshot. And how it was originally a hunting term for a shot that was taken without deliberate aim. This is something that has always fascinated me about photography, how violent the terms are. Although it might not be relevant to the topic I am looking at it is something that has always fascinated me.

One Hour Photo really has changed the way I will approach my research, I will now be looking for negative effects of escaping reality as well as positive.

Leave a Reply

