Practice filming

It’s time to start filming, I got out a camera and started filming, but I filmed in the wrong file format which is annoying so have had to download a converter.

These are the original files, and i’m going to try slowing them down and playing around using Twixtor

First Attempt

This was my first idea, however i didn’t like the positioning. I want everything to me ordered and regimented, not at an askew angle.

Second Attempt

I found a much more fitting position which works a lot better.

There is a lot of background noise, and the ticking isn’t very loud so i played around with the levels on iMovie

and got this

It’s a lot more musky, and what i mean by that is it sounds claustrophobic, like the kind of clock you would find in an on mansion.

I then thought about speed, what would this sound like slowed down? for my final I had no intention of using slowed down sound but i mustn’t rule it out without trying.

Slow Mo

watching this slow motion video is making me realise how much the tick of a clock resembles the heart and how the speed changes our mood.

So how about being sped up?

200%

800%

These experiments have taught me some pretty interesting things, how speed of sound changes everything, especially when it resembles a heart beat; slow steady beats resemble a normal beating heart, fast beats create the sense of adrenaline or action, and abnormaly slow beats resemble dying/something which effects us, like when you fall over everything seems to go to slow motion.

Also the camera apears like a still image because it doesnt have a second hand, this was a problem before i started shooting but now I can see the relationship between an unusually fast/slow sound and a still object, it put the viewer in an uncomfortable position.

Leave a Reply

