Day 5: Vintage-Ware photoshoot

Over the past 6 months my mum has been gathering vintage tea sets, she is setting up a business in which she rents them out to parties and weddings. Now she has her collection she asked me to shoot the promotion images for the website. I spent today doing it in my make shift studio. I also edited the images and made the watermark.

The Photos:

Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
Vintage-Ware ©Daisy Ware-Jarrett

Getting the lighting right was quite hard, I wanted to create a soft overtone which conotes this vintage style that has come into fashion, but I couldn’t avoid the deep shadows, my natural style usually introduces light into darkness, for example I always imagine my photos by starting with a black canvas, then I add the lighting, and build it up that way, but these photos want to be approached in a way which features no darkness, which I found hard, and you can see this within the images, the shadows are way to harsh. However the customer is more then happy with the photos, so that is all that counts.

The next step was creating a watermark, I used the initials of the existing company logo and changed the transparency which you can see on the images.

Update 25/3/2012…

Vintage-Ware are worried about the watermark, they feel that it should have the “-” included because of Volkswagens use of the “VW” so the watermark is now…

I have learnt that as a photographer when you are asked to watermark images you must check all legalities, it’s worth the extra effort and safety to prevent from any legal problems and to keep the clients mind at ease.

One thought on “Day 5: Vintage-Ware photoshoot

Leave a Reply

