Attempting Prism Photography

So i decided to just go ahead and try some prism photography, Online said to use a water bottle and a focused light.

I started by covering my desk lamp in cardboard and putting a hole in the top. I then shone this onto a bottle of water which in tern projected onto a white wall.

The images that came out were rubbish, the light wasn’t strong enough so the prism effect didn’t really happen…

I then decided to see what would happen if i blocked out my curtains and made a small hole, as you can see from the photograph my curtains weren’t thick enough, too much light was getting in.

I then noticed a small blue light coming from my speakers was shining through a glass and acting as a prism, dispersing the light on my wall. So I took this light and played around with it and a bottle of water.

©Daisy Ware-Jarrett

These are the most interesting images I got…

©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
©Daisy Ware-Jarrett
©Daisy Ware-Jarrett

These images aren’t what i expected at all, I want to try with white light though to try and create a spectrum, i will have to book out more powerful lights tomorrow. I’m also going to try and find something glass that is more prism-like so the shapes are clearer and more disperse.

Leave a Reply

