Cosplay Project

I may have mentioned on here before that for part of my professional experience I wanted to do a Cosplay project, which would eventually be made into a book, and hopefully be published in NEO, if I can get through to them. So I decided to start thinking about this in terms of reality, so today I emailed a member of the anime and manga society to ask if the group woud be interested in being my subjects. All I can do now is wait and hope they want to get involved. This is the email I sent…

“Hello Claire,

My name is Daisy Ware-Jarrett and i’m a 2nd year photography student, as part of our course this year we have to do professional experience, for part of this I want to create a self motivated project on Cosplay, I am a huge anime, manga and all things Japanese fan and thought that this project would be a great way for me and the anime and manga society to work together. The aim of the project is to create a series of Cosplay portraits and make it into a book. The ideal is getting the images published in NEO magazine, which I am attempting to make happen but not getting much response at the moment. Either way the project is still going ahead and I wanted to ask if the anime and manga society would like to be my models, it seems like the perfect idea, photographing something we all love. There are no plans set in stone yet, but the shoot wont be for quite a while. What I would ask is that for all that are up for it to buy, make or use an existing costume and wear it, I will then photograph them and maybe ask them a few questions about why they love anime/manga. 

As I said the plans aren’t set in stone I was just wondering wether this would be something you would be interested in doing. 

Thanks for taking the time to read this,

Daisy Ware-Jarrett”
Leave a Reply

