‘Thx For The Add’ by Ben Roberts

Ben Roberts experience with Flickr began in 2006 when he set up an account, he wanted to have it as a place to archive his images but the attention he got and the people he met online led him to this project ‘Thx for the Add‘ in which Roberts travels to meet people who he had met online.

Andrew Hetherington, photographer, New York, NY. I followed Andrew's blog 'What's The Jackanory?' about the life of an editorial photographer in New York city, and on a visit to the USA in 28 I met up with him for lunch. He gave me good advice on my folio, and showed me how to eat healthily! Unbeknownst to me, in late 29 Andrew nominated me for the PDN3 Emerging Photographers list, that I was fortunate enough to be listed in.
Vignes Balasingham, Photographer, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I met Vig at a small flickr meetup on a crisp february morning in London, 28. He was in the UK visiting his girlfriend who at the time was studying at Cambridge University. I found myself in Kuala Lumpur for three days in November of that year, and Vig was my full time guide, taking me on foot on a tour around town via the city's best eateries.

Anne Johnstone, Scientist, Edinburgh. I met Anne through flickr in 28. Shortly after this photograph was taken in Hackney Wick, we got unintentionally drunk on tequila while dressed up in Hawaiian shirts in a marquee in Victoria Park.

I think these images and the text together work great as a project, exploring the variety of cultures and people you can meet via social network, especially as a photographer.

One thought on “‘Thx For The Add’ by Ben Roberts

Leave a Reply

